SUMMARY: Shreveport City Council Races

Sunday, October 3, 2010 - 9:38am

Getting most of the attention in Saturday’s preliminary election contest was the Shreveport’s mayoral race, which ended up in a runoff between incumbent mayor Cedric Glover and city council challenger Bryan Wooley.

Several Shreveport city council seats were decided and others are going to a runoff as well.

For the District B seat, Jeff Everson and Sheva Sims will go one-on-one come November 2nd. Everson garnered 43 percent of the vote and Sims 40.

This is the 2nd attempt for a city council seat for Sims, who fell short in 2006.

Sam Jenkins was the victor for the District G position, earning 71 percent of the vote.
Currently Jenkins represents Caddo Parish District 5, as a parish commissioner.
Jenkins will replace Joyce Bowman, who is stepping down for health reasons.

A new face to enter the city council chamber will be Oliver Jenkins, who defeated Jacob Toloso for the District C seat, collecting 84 percent of the vote.

Other runoffs for city council will be between Rose McCulloch and C.O. Simpkins for the District A seat.

Also, the District D position which pits, Michael Corbin and Phillip Templeton competing for the council city seat left vacant by councilman Wooley’s run for mayor.




Comments News Comments

Post new Comment